Sauna electrical requirements
Before price, check power. Of the 21 saunas in our index, 3 plug into a standard outlet. The rest need a dedicated circuit, a 240V line, or hardwiring by an electrician.
Plugs into a standard 120V outlet (3)
These use the ordinary household plug (NEMA 5-15). The brands still point you to the owner's manual for circuit details, and an outlet that shares its breaker with other heavy appliances can trip.
| Model | Electrical, as published | Placement | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peak Saunas MiniInfrared | 120V, 10A, standard NEMA 5-15P outlet; dedicated circuit not stated | Indoor | $5,450 |
| Peak Saunas CrownInfrared | 120V, 15A, standard NEMA 5-15P outlet; 'no electrician needed' | Indoor | $5,950 |
| Peak Saunas ShastaInfrared | 120V, 15A, standard NEMA 5-15P outlet; dedicated circuit not stated | Indoor | $7,250 |
120V on a dedicated 20A or 30A circuit (6)
Same voltage as a household outlet, but they draw more current than a standard 15A circuit carries. A 20A circuit uses a NEMA 5-20 outlet, which has one T-shaped slot. The 30A models use a locking plug. Most homes need an electrician to add one of these circuits.
| Model | Electrical, as published | Placement | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Saunas Solstice 1Infrared | 120V, dedicated 20A circuit; plug not stated | Indoor | $4,999 |
| Sun Home Saunas Equinox 2Infrared | 120V, 15.67A, dedicated 20A circuit, NEMA 5-20P | Indoor | $6,099 |
| Sun Home Saunas PodInfrared | 120V, 14.2A, dedicated 20A circuit, NEMA 5-20P | Indoor | $6,599 |
| Peak Saunas EverestInfrared | 120V, 20A, dedicated 20A circuit, NEMA 5-20P | Indoor | $7,950 |
| Peak Saunas FujiInfrared | 120V, 20A, dedicated 20A circuit, NEMA 5-20P; 9 ft cord | Indoor | $8,450 |
| Sun Home Saunas Eclipse 2Infrared | 120V, 23.5A, dedicated 30A circuit, NEMA L5-30P (locking) | Indoor | $9,999 |
240V circuit (8)
These need a 240V circuit with a double-pole breaker, like an electric dryer or range. Most plug into a matching outlet (NEMA 6-20 or a locking L6 type). Plan on an electrician.
| Model | Electrical, as published | Placement | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Saunas Solstice 4Infrared | 240V, dedicated 20A circuit, NEMA 6-20P | Indoor | $7,799 |
| Peak Saunas DenaliInfrared | 240V, 20A, dedicated circuit, NEMA 6-20P; electrician required | Indoor | $9,750 |
| Peak Saunas Patagonia (Outdoor)Infrared | 240V, 20A, dedicated outdoor-rated circuit, NEMA L6-20P; electrician required | Outdoor | $10,950 |
| Sun Home Saunas Luminar 2 (Outdoor)Infrared | 240V, dedicated 20A circuit, NEMA L6-20P | Outdoor | $10,999 |
| Sun Home Saunas Eclipse 4Infrared | 240V, 22A, dedicated 30A circuit, NEMA L6-30P | Indoor | $12,999 |
| Sun Home Saunas Luminar 5 (Outdoor)Infrared | 240V, dedicated 30A circuit, NEMA L6-30P | Outdoor | $13,899 |
| Peak Saunas El Capitan (Outdoor)Infrared | 240V, 30A, dedicated outdoor-rated circuit, NEMA L6-30P; electrician required | Outdoor | $16,750 |
| Finnleo NorthStar Outdoor 5' × 7'Traditional | 240V, 30A, single-phase | Outdoor | Not published |
Hardwired (4)
No plug at all: the heater is wired directly into a circuit by a licensed electrician. This is typical for traditional saunas.
| Model | Electrical, as published | Placement | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| SaunaBox Forge (1-Person)Traditional | 240V, 14.4A, hardwired | Outdoor | $4,490 |
| Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4 Person BarrelTraditional | Heater: 240V, 30A, hardwired. Lights: 120V, 15A plug-in | Outdoor | $6,060 |
| Almost Heaven Watoga 2–4 Person BarrelTraditional | Heater: 240V, 30A, hardwired. Lights: 120V, 15A plug-in | Outdoor | $6,183 |
| Sun Home Saunas Nova 3Traditional | 240V, dedicated 30A circuit, hardwired | Indoor | $11,999 |
Cold plunges
Cold plunge chillers are lighter loads. Every chiller in the index that publishes its power runs on 120V, but many brands want a dedicated 15A circuit so nothing else shares the breaker. Many also call for a GFCI-protected outlet, which matters anywhere water and electricity meet.
| Model | Power | Electrical, as published |
|---|---|---|
| Plunge The Plunge (Original) | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit |
| Plunge Plunge All-In (Gen 2) | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit; 7 ft cord with GFCI |
| Sun Home Saunas Cold Plunge (Horizontal) | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit | 120V NEMA 5-15 plug, dedicated 15A GFCI circuit |
| Sun Home Saunas Cold Plunge Pro | 120V standard outlet | 120V, 12A standard outlet |
| Desert Plunge Wide Grizzly 450 | 120V standard outlet | 110V standard outlet, 6.5A; GFCI adapter included |
| Desert Plunge Exclusive | 120V standard outlet | 110V standard outlet, 6.5A; GFCI adapter included |
| The Cold Life Ultimate Human Plunge | 120V standard outlet | 110–120V, 3.9A, 450W; standard GFCI outlet |
| The Cold Life Ultimate Lite (Inflatable) | 120V standard outlet | 110–120V, 3.9A, 450W; standard GFCI outlet |
| Salus Saunas Dynamic Cold Plunge | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit | 120V, dedicated 15A outlet with GFCI |
| Aquavoss AV-1 | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit | 110V, dedicated standard 15A outlet |
| Plunge Chill 1HP Chiller + Tub (Pro) | Not published | Plug & play; voltage not published |
| Plunge Chill 1HP Chiller + Tub (Plus) | Not published | Plug & play; voltage not published |
| Plunge Chill Chiller + Pro Tub (1/3 HP) | Not published | Plug & play; voltage not published |
| Plunge Chill Chiller + Tub (XXL) (1/3 HP) | Not published | Plug & play; 600W compressor; voltage not published |
| Recoverex Cold Plunge System | 120V standard outlet | Standard 110V outlet; no electrician needed |
| Polar Monkeys ONE | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit | Dedicated 110V (60 Hz), 15A outlet |
| Polar Monkeys Brainpod 2.0 | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit | Dedicated 110V (60 Hz), 15A outlet |
| Polar Monkeys Cyber Plunge | 120V, dedicated 15A circuit | Dedicated 110V, 15A outlet |
This guide summarizes what each manufacturer publishes. It isn't electrical advice. Have a licensed electrician confirm your panel's capacity and local code requirements before you buy, especially for outdoor installs.